About the Council

In 1993, the Texas Legislature created the Council on Competitive Government (CCG) in response to a growing interest in making government more efficient, cost-effective, and competitive. The Council represents key members of state leadership, with the statutory empowerment to drive fundamental change.

The Council on Competitive Government exists to advance government transformation efforts in the state of Texas. Government transformation efforts are projects that reexamine the method of delivering services in ways that improve efficiency, effectiveness and results that are relevant to citizens.


The CCG consists of the following seven council members:

  • Governor Greg Abbott (Council Chair)
  • Comptroller of Public Accounts Glenn Hegar
  • Lieutenant Governor Dan Patrick
  • Speaker of the House of Representatives Joe Straus
  • Texas General Land Office Commissioner George P. Bush
  • Commissioner of Labor from the Texas Workforce Commission Ronald Gene Congleton.
  • Texas Facilities Commission Executive Director Harvey Hilderbran

Each council member may appoint a designee with full power to represent the member in his/her absence. Contact the Council here.

Statutory Basis

House Bill 2626 by Black, 73rd Legislative Session (1 V.T.C.A., Government Code §2162), created the Council on Competitive Government (CCG). Enabling statute for the CCG is found in Government Code 2162.

Minutes and Agendas

Minutes and agendas from previous meetings of the Council are available upon request.

State of Texas Home Page Statewide Search from the Texas State Library